Bus Rider - Lifelong Democrat - A Proven Leader for the People
I rely on AC Transit every day and have lived in Ward 4 for nearly 30 years. I am a lifelong Democrat and have decades of governance and public community service experience. I am an elected member of the Alameda County Democratic Central Committee, a delegate, and an executive board member of the California Democratic Party.

My Platform:
- Reliability
- Accessibility
- Equity
- Low Fares
- Environmental Sustainability
- Supporting our Transit Workers

As a bus rider in a working-class Brown and Black community with many essential workers, I want to make sure riders who depend on AC Transit have healthy, connected communities. I believe public transit should be reliable, accessible, equitable, affordable, and environmentally friendly. I will keep fares low with quality customer service. I strongly support employees and their unions. I will obtain additional funding to hire more employees and restore service to pre-pandemic levels.

Experienced in Improving Transit for Our Community

I am already a proven leader as I catalyzed The $2 Million Emergency Repave of Ashland and the $20 Million Ashland East 14th Street Phase II Corridor Improvement Project. Transit riders, pedestrians, and bicyclists, now have a safe and accessible commercial corridor because of my advocacy. The street now has expanded bus boarding platforms, new bus shelters, new seating at bus stops, safer sidewalks, adequate street lights, bike lanes, and safer crosswalks. I am have significantly reducing our carbon footprint because there is less car usage.


ATU Local 192

State & County Leadership

State Controller
Betty Yee

Chair of the CA Board of Equalization
Malia Cohen

Alameda County Supervisor
Richard Valle

Alameda County Assessor
Phong La

Ash Kalra

Transit Agency Directors

AC Transit Director Jovanka Beckles

BART Director
iz Ames

BART Director
ateefah Simon

Former AC Transit Ward 4 Director Mark Williams

Mayors and City Council & Municipal Advisory Council Members

Hayward City
Francisco Zermeño

Hayward City Councilmember
Aisha Wahab

San Leandro
City Councilmember
Victor Aguilar

San Leandro
City Councilmember
Bryan Azevedo

San Leandro
City Councilmember
Corina Lopez

Fairview Municipal Advisory Council Member
April Chan

Oakland City Council President
Nikki Fortunato Bas

Oakland City Councilmember
Dan Kalb

Berkeley Mayor
Jesse Arreguin

Berkeley City Councilmember
Ben Bartlett

Alameda Labor Council Secretary-Treasurer
Liz Ortega

AFSCME Political & Legislative Director
Kim Carter Martinez

Labor Leaders

Former SEIU 1021
Vice President/
Alameda Health Systems Trustee/
Eden Municipal Advisory Committee Jennifer Esteen

Doug Jones - SEIU UHW Political Organizer

Keith Brown- President of OEA

Kyla Sinegal
San Lorenzo School Board President

Castro Valley School Board Member
Michael Kusiak

School Board Members

Hayward School
Board Member
April Oquenda

Castro Valley School Board Member
Dolly Adams

George Syrop
Hayward Community Services Commissioner

Other Community Leaders
Ruscal Cayangyang, AD14 Delegate to the CA Dem Party, Former Vallejo School Board President
Amar Shergill, Chair of the CA Dem Party Progressive Caucus
A. Keith Gibbs
Zach Denney
Josh De Leon
Eva Poon

Alfred Twu
Berkeley Planning Commissioner


Ward 4 includes the following cities and unincorporated communities:
- Ashland
- Cherryland
- Castro Valley
- Fairview
- San Lorenzo
- Hayward Acres
- San Leandro
(area south of Fairway Drive and San Leandro Hospital)
- Hayward
(area east of Hesperian Blvd, I-880)

Click here for an interactive zoomable map. Ward 4 is shaded yellow

Paid for by Barisha Spriggs for AC Transit Board 2022, FPPC # 1454463

Privacy Policy
I do not collect personally identifiable user information from visitors to the website. You may opt in to receiving email newsletters, become a volunteer, or endorse the campaign. Your information will only be used for internal use and will not be sold to any other candidate, political party, or organization.